Page 1 of 3
i consider myself a pretty good guitarists and ive been playing for 7 years now. I love soloing and improvising but i don't use my pinky, i need help on how to train my pinky so i can use it more and become and even faster guitarist.
Just start off with chromatic scales (if you don't know what that is try just running from frets 1-4 on each string using your index finger for fret 1, middle for fret 2, ring for fret 3, and pinky for fret 4).
do half whole step drills, like this

1-2-4

or whole half;

1-3-4

using your pinky to get the "4". move it vertical and horizontal around the fretboard.

that should get you started.
Last edited by MapOfYourHead at Jul 7, 2009,
it took me a while to start using mine
just keep playing scales and incorperate your little finger into them
There's always the old chromatic exercises:
|---------------------------------------------------1-2-3-4-|
|-----------------------------------------1-2-3-4-----------|
|-------------------------------1-2-3-4---------------------|
|---------------------1-2-3-4-------------------------------|
|-----------1-2-3-4-----------------------------------------|
|-1-2-3-4---------------------------------------------------|

Ascending and descending using all of your fingers, picked and using hammer-ons and pull-offs.

|--------------------------3-4--|
|---------------------3-4-------|
|----------------3-4------------|
|-----------3-4-----------------|
|------3-4----------------------|
|-3-4---------------------------|

Ascending and descending using you pinky and ring finger picked and using hammer-ons and pull-offs.

Just make up your own exercises that utilizes your pinky, and remember when doing linear exercises like this use a metronome.
Quote by thsrayas
Why did women get multiple orgasms instead of men? I want a river of semen flowing out of my room to mark my territory.

You can play a shoestring if you're sincere
- John Coltrane
Quote by MapOfYourHead
do half whole step drills, like this