Well obviously to begin you're going to want to learn the major scales. Though if you're a metal fan like I think your username is suggesting the pentatonic minor scale is something worth looking into.

Also, make sure you understand music theory and know the simple stuff. You need to understand everything about the scale, which should make learning easier.
ok i'll learn the majors because i like all kinds of music and would rather learn what i should learn first. I'm not an expert or anything on music theory but i know the fretboard note layout. What else should i know
It's a pretty long ordeal but i think...no no no...i KNOW...that learning the major scale and how to manipulate those major scales to pick out whatever scales you want...whatever modes and in whatever progression.

But you need to first learn

1. All fretboard notes inside and out.
2. Learn all the Major scales like the back of your hand, or better!
3. Then go on learning how to use those within progressions and how to pick whatever modes and stuff you want from there using the knowledge you have!

Now i'm not saying i know all these things but i know what i need to study, and am as of now trying to memorize my fretboard like it's the back of my hand, and pick them out whenever i need them on an impulse. But i know doing that it will help me be able to utilize whatever scales i want just based on notes and sounds rather than memorizing numbers and patterns of a minor pentatonic scale :P
Major scale. -How it's constructed and how to spell it in all 12 keys. And how to play it all over the fretboard.

Learn all the intervals (major minor perfect augmented and diminished) so you can instantly recall the note any interval above or below any given note. Get to know them so you can answer a question like "what note is a minor sixth below D♭" quicker than you can answer a question like "what's 4 times 6?" (If you can train your ear to hear the intervals too it will help you immensely.)