I've been playing guitar for around 7 months (off and on) now, and I've been toying with the idea of playing bass.

I'd still like to play lead guitar, but I like the added versatility of playing bass (almost every band seems to need a bass player )

I was thinking of getting a P-Bass or a Jazz bass, but I really like the look of the P-Bass better, maybe a Squier P-Bass Special? I like the idea of having both the p-bass pickups and the jazz bass ones.

As far as what I play, I really don't know what I'll be playing, so I'd like something versatile.

I've got no idea what amp to get.

Budget; I'm hoping to spend less than $300 for the bass and the amp.

So, any thoughts/advice?

Thanks
When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace. - Jimi Hendrix
You seem to have a level head on your shoulders for a new bass player, which is great. For the bass, you're right about the P/J setup being versatile. Look into SX basses; they're cheap, but they're solid basses stock and even better for modifying later on. Amp-wise, look at Acoustic bass amps. Get the biggest one you can afford, IMO. Can't go wrong with that setup as a beginner. Hope that helped!

Steve
Quote by PatMcRotch
The term grammer nazi is from the camps in the lolocaust made by Adrofl Hitlol...

Quote by Wasted Bassist
Be sure to rape the blue note (augmented 4th). Rape it hard and exploit it like the skank it is.

Founder of the All-Tube Bass Amp Owners Club. PM me to join.
Quote by Your41Plague12
You seem to have a level head on your shoulders for a new bass player, which is great. For the bass, you're right about the P/J setup being versatile. Look into SX basses; they're cheap, but they're solid basses stock and even better for modifying later on. Amp-wise, look at Acoustic bass amps. Get the biggest one you can afford, IMO. Can't go wrong with that setup as a beginner. Hope that helped!

Steve

Thanks, that did help.