Ok I just figured this out when I was driving haha -

I've got two different amps that I want to run stereo with eachother through the same cab. BUT I also want there to be times when I can play both amps separately. The thing which has got me is how will I get the volumes of each amp right in the different scenario's, i.e in stereo and on their own. Surely both amps will have to be quieter when they are playing together and louder when they're on their own - how will I get round this problem?
I'm running through my GCX Audio Switcher and Ground Control Pro and I also have a G-Major at hand (Not sure if this will have any functions that could help?)

Cheers!
use your guitar volume

otherwise, maybe try a volume pedal on one or both signals. Can I assume you need to do this mid-song or something? Will you be far away from the amps or something? I don't think it's going to all be that much louder when running both. I've never done it before.

Not sure what you can do with your current gear. What amps heads are these? Do you have the speaker ohm situation figured out?
Its not really Stereo if your only using 1 cab.

You could try an A/B/Y box to switch between them.
Sig What?
It's stereo it's just that the seperation can be measured in centimeters and you won't hear it as well. For example if one amp is wired to the top two speakers and the other amp is wired to the bottom speakers I bet you could hear the difference.

How will an ABY box fix his volume question?
Cheers for the replies guys. The two amps I'm going to be using are the 5150 III and the Orange Thunderverb 50 or 200, haven't decided which one yet. Yeh it's going to mid-song i'll be doing this. I also figured out that if I'm using my 4x12 as basically two 2x12's, then I'm going to have two mic's live, one for each amp.... I'm kool with this but then maybe it's going to sound like three guitars live (other guitarist). Starting to become a little difficult this is haha!
Last edited by ollievk at Jul 9, 2009,