I need to upgrade the crappy amp that came as a pack with my electric guitar. Now, as a relative newbie, I'm still experimenting with different sounds and styles. So I've been contemplating getting a modelling amp with built in effects like a Cube 30X or a Vox VT30.

Alternatively, I could get a multi effects unit like a Line 6 POD. Of course, that would still leave me stuck with my crappy 5w amp. But I could run a multi effects through my headphones for the time being. I don't really have the cash at the moment for a new amp and an multi-effects.

I'm pretty much a bedroom player, with no grand ambitions for anything else.
I'd go for a Peavey Vyper.

-Gibson LP VM
-Silvertone Kentucky Blue
-MXR CC Delay
-Ibanez TS-9
-Egnater Rebel 20

My rig is simple
Haha. UG's Chuck just said chuck. haha
You're not truly playing guitar unless you know theory.
If you live in Northern Ireland which is unlikey I'll sell you my Cube 30X, which is rather a good step up from a starter amp.
Gear
Tokai Love Rock
Vox AC4
Danelectro Transparent Overdrive
T.C. Electronic Nova Repeater
Stomp Under Foot Violet Rams Head
Buy yourself a better amp.

about 50 watts will do you. If you want sounds, look for an amp with plenty of on-board effects.
hey, similar situation here. i am replacing my crappy fender 15 watter with something a little better, nothing too big or expensive cause im a poor student and i move alot. i play everything from classic rock & blues to metal, and sometimes acoustic thru my amp.

anyway, today i played a marshall mg30fx and a vox valvetronic vt30. both about the price i'm looking for ($300 ish canadian), they both sounded pretty good. both have built in effects, although the vox has way more. thing is, they're both brand new models (replacing the vox ad30vt and marshall mg30dfx) so i can hardly find any review on either, but what i have found is good.

so long story short... anyone have experience with either of them? or suggest something better in a similar price range?