hello everybody!

for the first time since i started playing i feel totally motivated to dedicate my life to music (mostly to guitar), so from now on I'll get serious on it, and i think making a list of everything i need to learn / practice would help a lot... and of course, this is the first place that comes to my mind when i ask myself "who could help me with these?"

being more specific, i want to be a great guitarrist improvising, composing and playing, i want to be able to compose whole songs and not just the guitar parts and i'd like to be able to play at least the basics of every genre, but knowing how to play the hardest stuff from rock and metal (even tech death and such)

so thats it, i have the rest of my life to become that

i'd start the list with these stuff:

--get a teacher
--learn theory (at least the basics)
--memorize each note on the fretboard
--learn the major, minor, pentatonic major and minor (wich else? how much should i know about them?)
--learn all major and minor chords
--learn legato
--learn sweep picking
--learn arpeggios
--start a band (what do i need before this?)
--have perfect pitch

what else should i add?

thanks
For writing just start writing, you'll get better with practice. I recommend using Guitar Pro, because it simple to use, you can use a lot of instruments, and you can hear what you're making.

Along with those scales learn modes and the theory behind them.
Quote by aldo47
(i thought hot strings would make me finger faster.)
so i tried to set my strings on fire by putting a lighter on the high e string n it cut it so wtf??!!? i passed the lighter rrly slowly by it for less then a sec n then it snapped...
You only need to know one thing to be a great guitarist in my mind.

There is always room for improvement.
[quote="'[BurnTheDusk"]']You only need to know one thing to be a great guitarist in my mind.

i know, i'll always be adding more stuff to the list and improving everything i already know