well i have a Peavey vypyr 15w right now and dont reallly like the way the speaker sounds(kinda muddy not crisp) and was thinking of getting a speaker swap...
but im TOTALLY new to this idea and need ALOT of help so plz make recommendations of speakers i should get... i listen to tdwp,killswitch engage anything metal really....or sub genres.so make recommendations what i should be looking for in the sense of what will work and i would preffer a 12'' in speaker and a place to show me how to do it
thanks alot in advance.!
1st: How do you know its the speaker not the amp?
2nd: When you replace the speaker the new one must have the same ohms reading.
3rd: All you have to do is unsolder 2 wires from the old speaker and solder them (on the right solder lugs) on the new speaker.
I have a Vypyr 30 and I use a Celestion G12K-85 with it and it sounds alot better than the stock speaker did. The G12K-85 isn't made anymore but the G12K-100 is pretty much the same speaker.

Quote by guitarcam123
1st: How do you know its the speaker not the amp?
2nd: When you replace the speaker the new one must have the same ohms reading.
3rd: All you have to do is unsolder 2 wires from the old speaker and solder them (on the right solder lugs) on the new speaker.

2. Yes make sure the new speaker has the same ohm rating.
3. On the Vypyrs they're not soldered on they have the slide on connectors.
*My opinion may be invalid because I have not tried the amp*

Don't waste your money on a speaker for a $99 modelling amp. The amp itself is not good enough to warrant the upgrade. It has an 8" speaker so it'd be near damned impossible to fit a 12" in there. Save your money and buy a better amp.
Quote by supergerbil
*My opinion may be invalid because I have not tried the amp*