I've been playing guitar for five years now, and bass for two. I couldn't find a good bass tutor so i've been teaching myself, figuring that it shouldn't be too hard with my guitar background. I started out with a pick, but it didn't take me too long to get my fingers going instead.

However, I can't seem to keep it up for any period of time more than about ten minutes because it hurts the hell out of my fingers - i regularly end up with blisters and have to use the pick instead. That can't be normal, right? I've no idea what could be causing this: i don't notice anything wildly different about my technique, I don't know if it's just because my bass is a budget model with really crappy strings. I just think 2 years is a bit long to have this still happen - this ever happen to you guys?
Hahahahahahahahahah hahahaha har har har
I can play for much longer without hurting my hands on the strings, and I have only been playing for about three months..

Maybe you have a vulnerable skin?
Is it muscle pain too? crappy worn down strings shouldn't be all sharp or anything, maybe go get some rubbing alcohol and dip your fingers in before, during, and after playing to really get some monster callouses going.
Maybe use tape on the ends of your fingers
flintazra wrote:

I think the next person to shoot up a school should list Jonas brothers and Hannah Montana as his favorite "musicians."
u will develop callouses if you play enough, but u shouldnt be playing that hard with your fingers, its basically just a light pull on the string
DBZ Barchetta Eminent FR
DBZ Bolero ST
DBZ Imperial FM
DBZ Venom Matte Black
Dean '79 V
Dean '79 ML
Fender Princeton Chorus
Behringer V-Tone 2/12
Asterope Cables
Dunlop Cry Baby Wah
Digitech Hardware Metal Distortion
not muscular, just blistery.

i doubt its the skin - my other hand didn't take long to harden up from all the fretting, and i shouldn't think there'd be anything wrong with one of my hands and not the other.

maybe i'm just a massive pussy.