I'm trying to negotiate my way around an idea that's been mulling around in my head for a while now...

I want to buy a custom-made eight-string guitar.

I find the ones currently on the market to be not how I want an eight string to be. There just isn't enough companies making them, in my eyes.
The ESP LTD FM-408 only has a 25" scale. The ESP LTD SC-608B doesn't come in any other colours or variations of pick-ups. The Ibanez RG-2228 has EMG 808's and looks too... RG-ish. I already own an Ibanez Apex2. The Agile Intrepids seem nearly perfect, but I live in Ireland and I have had no experience with Customs Tax or shipping from America.
There are other luthiers who trade in eight strings, but they are either too expensive (Blackmachine) or still don't have the specs that I want.

Anyway, I don't know what wood would be ideal for the 27" or 28" scale that I plan on getting. Any ideas?

Also, what pick-ups would suit my playing styles? I play progressive hard-rock with a lot of cleans.
The pick-ups need to be able to handle note separation very well. I use uncommon, spacey chords, so the need for articulation is imperative.

I have a Bareknuckle Nailbomb in mind for the bridge (coil-tapped) and a Bareknuckle of some kind for the middle position (also coil-tapped).
I wanted a single-coil in the neck as I don't tend to use humbuckers in top positions. But I have no idea of what model for that either.

The body shape is still very much in the air, also. I love the shape of a Telecaster, but they may not be practical for eight string baritones. The classic Stratocaster/RG shape would be lovely, either.
I'm quite partial to the Agile Intrepid eight string shapes.

And because of that, the bridge type is also up in the air. I'm totally open to new ideas. But I don't want a Floyd Rose.

Thanks very much, folks.
either. i haven't decided yet. i know i mentioned that i wanted to "buy a custom-made" guitar, but i should of mentioned that i was willing to build it as well.