Im totally new at recording.. and want to know where i should start.. the only equipment that i have is a windows vista computer and my guitar set up.. what do i need and how do i do it?
get Audacity. It's free, look it up

as for recording, my setup is rather unusual, I record to a video camera which I treat as a mic, then input the video into my computer and rip the audio tracks out. I think someone else can give a better suggestion on recording paraphernalia.
Quote by icaneatcatfood
On second thought, **** tuning forks. You best be carrying around a grand piano that was tuned by an Italian
Simplest and cheapest way is to get a cheap microphone and plug it into your microphonejack if you want to get simple ideas down. Just set it up to record into something free like Audacity.

If you want studio quality guitars for a decent CD demo, however, you'll need a decent audio interface, assuming your PC has a bog standard sound card and not a fancy music production one.

The reason for this in simple terms is that basic soundcards are, well, crap for recording audio they're hissy and often the sound is worse than a cassette deck, you'll need adapters and will constantly be switching cables over behind your pc. You could get a mixer, but if the sound card is a poor one for recording it's better to get an audio interface (more on that in a sec). furthermore if you're into digital music and using midi input to control software synths and the like, because the digital to audio converter (DAC) chips on standard sound cards aren't up to much and take a while to process the signals between the gobbledegook coming out of your amp and the double-dutch used by the audio software, you get a delay between when you play and the audio being processed. In online gamer terms: lag. :p