This question has been plaguing me for months, ever since I started learning theory and actually playing guitar a lot. I mean, what do I use to make on. Do I just play around with sounds until I find what's right or do I use all of those theory forumlas and such...possibly both. But I just wanted some insight on personal experience with songwriting or tips

Thank You So Much!

Logan S.
read up on progressions.

another easy thing u can do is to learn 1 rock song then make 1 that's kinda like the one u learned by changing somethings here and there.
*reported*... twice in one reply!

OH NOES!!! Theowy is scawY!!!
Play what sounds good. Read up on progressions, but remember: theory is not a set of rules. There are no "theory formulas" as you seem to think. Theory describes what you hear, it doesn't rule what you play.
Find out how the theory you know fits into rock music. For example, if you understand chord progressions, then you'll soon realise that rock music uses the I-IV and V chords of a scale quite alot.
Quote by Zaphod_Beeblebr
Theory is descriptive, not prescriptive.

Quote by MiKe Hendryckz
theory states 1+1=2 sometimes in music 1+1=3.
Sup you basically just find your own sounds that sound good to you and just really put them into a pattern in which you think is good. Same thing for solos to, ive already written two of my own thats in standard and d tuning but thats really all there is to it. hope this
Helps

Trever 597
. Do I just play around with sounds until I find what's right or do I use all of those theory forumlas and such...possibly both.QUOTE]

I don't know **** about theory or formulas, so I just mess around. I've composd one song, my problem is lyrics