Hey
so i started playing guitar on an electric guitar (A Dean ML) and after a year of playing i finally decided to get an acoustic guitar. I got a Takamine EG510SSC and i absolutely love it. anyway my electric guitar has only ever had 9 and 10 guage strings on them and im finding it really hard to push down the frets on my acoustic guitar. Is this cause the strings are a higher guage? (i dont know what guage they are, its just what came with it) or do i need to get the action lowered (cause it is higher then my electric). I have a set of 9's ready to change strings on my acoustic but i dont want to waste them if its not going to help.

tl;dr Is it the strings fault or actions fault that i find it difficult to push down the frets on my acoustic

Thanks, Dean
Originally Posted by CaptainJack666
i can see why he likes elevators, theyre a truly uplifting experience

Join The NSW FTW Group
PM Lrn2shrd69, Greekmagician or dougie_mate to join.
Usually acoustics will have a heavier gauge and higher action. To lower the action though it would need a tech to do it unless you confident you can do it yourself.
i know that its gonna be harder then an electric. but would changing the strings to a lower guage make any significant difference? like so i can build up finger strength and slowly increase the guage. or do i need to get the action lowered before i make any progress cause i cant play to save my life at the moment.

also, if i do need to get the action lowered.. would my local guitar shop do it? or do i need a luthier
Originally Posted by CaptainJack666
i can see why he likes elevators, theyre a truly uplifting experience

Join The NSW FTW Group
PM Lrn2shrd69, Greekmagician or dougie_mate to join.