I'm thinking about getting a VINTAGE MARSHALL REVERB 12 GUITAR AMP it's from the 80's and heard it's suppose to be good.

Would anyone recommend this? It will be a practice amp as I'm a beginner.

Thanks in advance.
Attachments:
amp.jpg
that would be a sweet first amp, but if you wanted more than blues/jazz/classic rock tones out of it you would need to boost it, or get a distortion pedal.
Quote by shakin'cakes
First of all, I enjoy deathcore for it's complexity and it's the only genre heavy enough for me

Quote by Highway60Bob
I want an amp good for playing hippie tunes. I want it to be an actual amp, not a tube amp.
Well a Reverb 12 is a simple solid state and not much to write home about. I'd get a Vox Valvetronix instead...
Quote by stratman_13
It's okay Gabel. You kick ass.

18watter video demo

My band

Recognised by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2009
plus you might as well start with a better sounding amp than the vox. regardless of versatility.
Quote by shakin'cakes
First of all, I enjoy deathcore for it's complexity and it's the only genre heavy enough for me

Quote by Highway60Bob
I want an amp good for playing hippie tunes. I want it to be an actual amp, not a tube amp.
Quote by pmeg568c
plus you might as well start with a better sounding amp than the vox. regardless of versatility.

Those solid state Marshalls aren't that amazing really. I've tried the new Voxes. They sound great overall. Since he's a beginner I doubt pedals is much of a worry...
Quote by stratman_13

18watter video demo

My band

Quote by Gabel
Those solid state Marshalls aren't that amazing really. I've tried the new Voxes. They sound great overall. Since he's a beginner I doubt pedals is much of a worry...

+1
i guess it would be a matter of which sound he likes better. i would take a road worn marshall amp over a new modeling amp any day.
Quote by shakin'cakes

Quote by Highway60Bob