Hi, I've been playing electric guitar for about 7 years, and have been learning fingerstyle for about 6 months. It has come to my attention that I've picked up alot of very bad habits that my professor never noticed (it was a group class, and maybe he just sucked, I dunno). I haven't been able to figure out good solutions to one problem, and then another I am a little unsure on.

1.) Unsure: looking at the attached picture (I'll upload and link to it if you need me to)

Is my right wrist curved too much? Most classical players I see have their wrist more or less straight, which mine is somewhat curved. I have tried to straighten it but I end up picking on an odd angle, more or less sideways, which feels very odd to me.

2.) My right pinky spazzes when I am playing, especially when I use my middle finger. I have tried to stop it from moving, but everything ends up creating tension and fatigue in my hand. Any suggestions?

3.) Unsure: when doing a free stroke, should I ALWAYS follow through to the inside of my palm? What about if I were playing fast? Wouldn't the motion from string to palm take a massive amount of time that would be inefficient?

Also, how do I differentiate fatigue in my right forearm from tension? After a while I think I feel tense, but it might also be weak muscles, right?

Thanks
Attachments:
SnapShot.jpg
Last edited by Sadistic sponge at Jul 10, 2009,
#1) If you were to ask a 'Classical' player they would generally say any bend in the wrist is too much... as it's unneccesary and can be damaging to your joints

#2) Can't help you

#3) Sure
I never have difficulty 'performing' it right away with whistles, hums, 'grunts' and percussion.
1. Your wrist, imo, is turned toward the right too much. Due, I suspect, to your choice of seating posture.
The fingers are, nevertheless, attacking the strings at an angle within a range acceptable to modern practice.
2. Don't worry about it. Let it spas.