Hey guys, I found an ESP Explorer for a real good price, just wondering if there's any way to tell if it's "real" (I've heard stories of people painting LTDs and what not, and I know that it's very expensive to get ESP EXs, because they don't sell the standard series in the states). Should I ask the guy for the serial number? If it's custom shop shouldn't it say custom on the headstock rather than EX? Thanks.
http://edmonton.kijiji.ca/c-buy-and-sell-musical-instruments-ESP-Explorer-EX-Electric-Guitar-403-350-9534-W0QQAdIdZ138344249
He say's he payed 2200 for it, but for the features he described and the way he said that it's an "Exact Replica" of Jame Hetfield's makes me think he has no idea what he has, and is just trying to make some money off of it. He says it was custom ordered ,but it says ESP EX on the headstock, and while I'm not an expert, I'm quite certain all CS ESP's says ESP with Custom Shop written right next to it. Again, I'm no expert, but it doesn't look very convincing.
My Gear
Marshall MG10 + Digitech RP350 multi-fx
Dean ZX
B52 AT-100
MXR 10-Band EQ Pedal
ESP LTD KH-Ouija Sig
1.- I dont know if it should say custom, but....
2.- Ask for a better pic of the back of the headstock. There you might see something that says that it's a custom guitar.
3.- I dont know what are "EMG 100" series pickups. I think the pickups on the guitar are 81-81 because of the silver logo. That makes him loose a point because Hetfield uses 81-60, and he says it's a replica :/
4.- ask for a pic of the neck joint. it should be a set neck

go and play it if you can. It's actually a very good price even if it isn't custom and just a standard ESP EX. Just make some googling on wich specs should ESP's standard EXs have.
GRUPO EN ESPAÑOL

SI BUSCAS BANDA EN LATINOAMERICA O ESPAÑA, ENTRA AQUI
Quote by ldnovelo
1.- I dont know if it should say custom, but....
2.- Ask for a better pic of the back of the headstock. There you might see something that says that it's a custom guitar.