Anyone who is currently enrolled in a school or has been to one that could touch on this subject, it would be greatly appreciated.

So, here's where I stand currently: I've been playing music for about 6 years, have taken lessons for a year, and am comfortable with all basic aspects of theory. Last year I traveled to Boston to audition for Berklee College of Music (which I failed to get into, obviously). This spring I'm going to try to enter Columbia College (in Chicago).

Questions:

1. With all the different types of musicians at different skill levels, what are the classes like?

2. What is the learning environment like? Stressful? Easy-going? Fast/slow paced?

3. How does it compare to a "normal" college/university? Are there lots of papers, note-taking, and tests? Or is it more hands-on?

4. What tips/advice would you give me? What is the overall atmosphere like that I'm going to be entering? Are other students usually nice and laid back, or more competitive?

Any first-hand experiences that you would like to share would be greatly appreciated.
I can't say for the US, but I'm at the Bristol Institute of Modern Music.

The classes have people worse than me and people a lot better than me, but no one is a prick about it.

It started out slow to get everyone on the same page, then got more technical.

It's a great environment - everyone just wants to play gigs and form bands.

It's been way more hands-on. There are essays and some notes to take if you don't already know what you're being taught, but compared to the grammar school I went to, it's practically paper-free apart from the massive textbook.

People are generally laid-back at BIMM. More important than the actual course is just living in close proximity with other musicians for however many years. Bands form pretty organically.
Good, that eases my worries a little bit. Hopefully the US isn't too different.
People are going to be friendly. If you're a complete dick then no one will want you in their band.