What's up, first time poster here!

So I was just messing around today with my RG70, and I accidentally left the Distortion on during the drum machine and I got a pretty cool Industrial beat going. So I got my Rock Band mic, booted up Audacity, and made this- it's only ~30 seconds long, but I was just experimenting. Totally new to recording and everything (thus why I'm using a Rock Band mic and freeware), but I just wanted to see how I did with my attempts at recording and Industrial.

Song's on my profile page (do you need to say that or is it implied? Like I said, total newbie here).
Thanks! Yeah, not much more I can do with the equipment I have, though. Or is there? I don't know too much about recording, so do you think I could get better quality somehow with a Rock Band mic (don't worry, a real mic's on my to-buy list)?
I use the exact same stuff to record as you. Where did you have the mic set and did you do anything in Audacity? Normalizing and layering whatever you record is usually pretty helpful.
Quote by aldo47
(i thought hot strings would make me finger faster.)
so i tried to set my strings on fire by putting a lighter on the high e string n it cut it so wtf??!!? i passed the lighter rrly slowly by it for less then a sec n then it snapped...
Right now I have the mic propped near the center of the amp on top of a cardboard box pointing 45 degrees up. And I didn't do anything in Audacity besides move the bass track up some. I have no idea how to properly normalize and equalize and things like that.
There's a filter to normalize things. You just have to highlight the area you want then go to 'Effect' and the top then to 'Normalize' then press OK when prompted. Try turning your amp up very loudly and put the mic as close to the amp as possible.

You might want to set up Audacity similar to this. You can find this options under 'edit' then 'preferences'

Setting the recording to 2 (stereo) is all you have to do there.