I've been playing guitar for about 3 years...I play a Strat w/ Custom Shop 69s into a bunch of pedals and into a Hot Rod Deluxe and I think that the reverb channel on the amp sounds beautiful at about 4. I read an extensive article by Bjorn Riis of Gilmourish.com regarding the use of reverb live and how it drowns out and ruins guitar tone. I highly regard Bjorn's extensive knowledge and opinions regarding guitar tone, and study his site regularly in my quest for knowledge about tone. Is this mainly an opinion regarding reverb, or is it something that should be taken as gospel? Many guitar players I admire use reverb constantly *John Mayer*, but others like David Gilmour, who I also admire, do not.
Doomsday Arsenal - alternative/progressive
Fender '08 Am Std Strat w/ CS69s > MXR Classic 108 Fuzz > JH-1B Wah > MXR Dyna Comp > EHX Big Muff Pi > Maxon OD9 > MXR Phase 90 > Ibanez CS9 > MXR Carbon Copy > Boss TU-2 > Fender Hot Rod Deluxe
tell you the truth, i think it is more opinion. I personally agree with him, i think everything sounds much better without it. But i've also never heard that before, so idk. Probably opinion though.
equipment:
Gibson SG Special ltd.
Peavey JF2EX
Fender Kingman SCE
Vox AD30Vt
Line6 Spider III 150

Quote by Philip_pepper

Be sure to be able to recite at least one Shakespeare quote before and after each song.

Out loud, or in your head, it's up to you.
I remember reading an interview with John Mayer where he said that he was trying to back off of his reverb use since he felt that it muddied up his tone as well.
I've always looked at guitar playing with effects like I would look at a woman; think about it using this metaphor.

Your talent on the fretboard, your individual technique, is like a girl's personality.
The effects you use to spice up that technique would be the girl's looks/body.