I am mainly a bassist and play my guitars through my bass amp. It's a 60 watt peavey SS with a 12" speaker. I am currently playing an Ibanez RG prestige with an emg 80 in the bridge position(found it used for $500, couldn't pass that up) through a Boss odb-3 bass distortion pedal and you can really tell it's not built for guitar sounds at all...in fact it's not too great at bass sounds either. The amp on the other hand can give me really nice cleans on the guitar and I can get a good eq usually since it has a mid shift knob to choose the mid frequency and also a presence knob that really helps a lot.

So what I'm looking for in a pedal is a good bit of versatility. I play 80's rock like poison all the way to power metal like Firewind and then I also play melodic death metal like Kalmah... Anybody know a good OD pedal that could get me even close to getting these types of tones. It doesn't have to be amazing as I don't play guitar in a band. I just need a good step up from what I've got. A guitar amp will probably come in the future but I have no real need(or space in my bedroom) for one, so I'm just looking to get what I can out of a pedal for now. Budget is kinda lenient but try not to go too far over $150...thx guys.

I know the tones are quite a wide range but the 80's tone and power metal tones would be most important.
dean edge one 5 string
Schecter studio-4
Samick fairlane-6
Ibanez sb900
Ibanez btb775
Fender p bass special deluxe

Dean Del Sol
Ibanez prestige rg2610

Peavey TKO 65
Peavey vb-2
Quote by the_perdestrian
listen to revelation, for he is wise in the way of bass-fu
Last edited by Revelation at Jul 14, 2009,
you're looking for a distortion pedal. get a proco rat
periphery/bulb!

gear:
Ibanez RG7321 w/ D-sonic in bridge

Peavey 5150 mk ii & b52 4x12 cab

line 6 podxt for recording

Quote by AsOneIStand
Head and Cab for $130? You don't need a head and cabinet, you need a psychological examination.