So I'll be picking up my electric soon and I may be getting ahead of myself a bit here but can anyone recommend some good pedals for a beginner.

I've been playing acousticly for over a year and think it'll take a bit of practice to get comfy with my LP, but i know i'll want to branch out more soon enough!

Any hints or tips?!

exotic lingerie
guitar lessons dvd
I use Boss pedals. For a good distortion sound, I use a Super Overdrive pedal, and I also have an Acoustic Simulator, which has a really nice tone and I don't have to lug my acoustic along to shows if I want that sound. I'm getting along fine with those, and I've been playing for 9 years. I would start off with a Distortion or Overdrive pedal first, then work your way up to other cooler sounds depending on what you play.
A distortionpedal is a must if you ask me
(unless you want to use the distortion of the amp ofcourse)
A hero of war, Yeah that's what I'll be

(.)(.)..........(.)(.)..........(.)(.)..........(.)(.)..........(.)(.)..........(.)(.)..........(.)(.)
i think it would depend on what amp you are using. what you should do is bring your amp to the nearest shop and just try out a bunch of pedals and find the one that you think is best.
"If A is a success in life, then A equals x + y + z. Work = x; y = play; and z = keeping your mouth shut."
--Einstein

"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe."
--Einstein
get a amp with reverb! you will get a much warmer tone with it...you will sound not so "sharp"
a metronome/tuner.
^Note: Probably sarcastic
Gear
Schecter Blackjack C1-FR
Few Agile 8-strings
Ormsby Hypemachine 2014 otw!!

Carvin X-100B
axe-fx II

W.A musicians FTW
Quote by crisisinheaven
Deep*Kick. You have destroyed every concept of life I've ever had.
I think getting your hands on a cheap multi-effects pedal would be a good idea. It'll help you to get a feel for a bunch of different effects and decide which ones you like best.