Hey Guys

I am fairly new to electric guitar (playing for about 4 months) I know a few songs, but I think its time to take it up a level.

Bare with me if I get the wrong terms.

Basically what I think I am looking for is a distortion pedal, lol. Looking for the type of sounds from the intro to 'Aint talking 'bout love by Van Halen. I have a Roland DAC-10 amp. I was looking at the Digitech hot head as they are fairly inexpensive, I dont want to spend too much on a pedal while I am still finding my feat on playing clean, just something to open up a few new sounds to work with.

Any help/insight will be appreciated.
The thing about the intro to aint talking bout love is that hes also using a phaser. If you just want a distortion pedal can you give us more songs/bands you like the sound of?
"...I cried. Just for a second. Then I thought, 'I must rock.' "
- James Iha

Rock on y'all!

actually calvero,
Eddie is using a flanger on the part

buy one and try it out trust me lol
Ok lets see, I have a very broad range of sounds I like, so for now I would need to pick one and go for it. Im really loving all metallica picking solos, like intro to welcome home sanitarium, and fade to black. I can play them clean and it sounds pretty good, dunno if anything could get them sounding better (more powerfull), I'm also really into buckethead.

But like I said, I like the type of sound from Van Halen, and ZZ top, (more specifically Le Grunge) The old school heavy sounds
thanks I'll check that pedal out, atm I am checking out different equipment on youtube. Will swing round the guitar center this weekend and see what they got
lol, ill check it out. I'm open to anything, just looking for a few names that I can string up at the guitar center, and hear 1st hand
Quote by sam32708
actually calvero,
Eddie is using a flanger on the part

buy one and try it out trust me lol

True that, my mistake. : )