Page 1 of 2
Ive recently gone through some brian may solos to find out what notes he uses and ive found that he usually uses each note at least once except for 1 or 2.

In the killer queen solo he uses all notes except C#, in bohemian rhapsody he uses all the notes except A, and in play the game he uses all of them except C# and F#.

It seems pointless to have a scale were there is only one note not used. Im still learning theory but the way I see it if scales were actaully used in these solos it seems a little pointless since they are so broad.
They are very very very useful. I imagine the notes he uses outside the scales are just passing notes. It's not uncommon to use notes outside of scales, however, they aren't usually emphasised.

If you know your major scale through and through, then everything else in music will make a lot more sense.

Edit: Just going to let you know, using a scale doesn't mean you aren't allowed to use notes outside of it. Scales are more or less guidelines.
Last edited by Regression at Jul 14, 2009,
even if he plays a ton of notes outside the scale, the scale still provides a point of reference and a melodic center
Quote by AA00P
Listen to the man, he's Jewish.
doesn't that just mean he uses chromatic passage notes / a combination of scales eh?
Quote by Demonikk
'Practice amp' = amp you practice with? In my case, Peavey 6505+ and 4x12
I don't do things small

Except children.
Quote by TheRobbo7108
I once thought like you but learning scales opens doors, it can help you find your style

Definitely. Music theory are not rules, they are guidelines to help you write things that sound good, and to bring out a certain sound in your playing.
just because you are playing within a scale doesn't mean you have to use every note from it. The real trick is knowing what notes to use when, scales are just guidelines to help you find the right notes more easily
The only 6 words that can make you a better guitarist:

Learn theory
Practice better