Hi,
I have an Epiphone Les Paul Special 2 and an Epiphone amp that came with it in a "starter pack". I just started getting lessons a week ago(I've had some experience with a guitar before that and I know all of the basics) and I have a half hour lesson once a week. I practice my guitar for 1-3 hours a day. Considering that this is a very beginner setup I'm wondering when I will outgrow what I currently have and be ready for an upgrade and what kind of guitar/amp I should upgrade to(probably will have about a $600 budget for both). I can't play much at the moment but I want to learn to play like guns n' roses, motley crue and aerosmith. Thanks a lot.
i'd spend 200 bucks on a vypyr and 400 on a mim strat or tele (used preferably)
Quote by AA00P
Listen to the man, he's Jewish.
You will out grow that fast. You have a slightly small budget for a nice mid level guitar and amp. I would buy as nice an amp as you can first, and then save up for a nice guitar. Thats just me.
flintazra wrote:

I think the next person to shoot up a school should list Jonas brothers and Hannah Montana as his favorite "musicians."
When you feel like your current tone/options are not "doing it for you."
Word of advice: save up as much as you can for that time, because it'll be worth it.

In my world, the color RED doesn't exist.

The system has encountered a fatal error [1809]: 'YourOpinion' var has no set value.
Well stay with this setup for at least a year or two. Examine your progress. Are you having trouble with simple solos? I'd recommend you stay with this and if you find yourself getting more dedicated to the instrument, then after a year or two do tons of research (i mean tons) into a new guitar and amp.
I think you'll want some effect pedals pretty soon and a new amp down the road.
Gear:
Fender Stratocaster
Silvertone 1448L
TC Electronic Polytune
Fender Blues Jr.
More in profile...
you outgrow your guitar when your hand becomes bigger than your face.