It's about tapping.I started using it recently and it isn't working for me.Could it be because i have old(about 16-17 years)and not very good guitar or it's all about tehnique and skill?
Can you do it at a slow pace alright? I'm not very good at tapping, myself.
Also, I don't know about you, but I prefer to use my index finger instead of my middle finger. You do whatever feels comfortable.
Just like every other technique, you need to start practicing slowly. Is it a muting problem, notes aren't being played in the proper sequence, or speed?
Just do it slow (clean, but slow) and work your speed up. Also, i like to use my pick to tap.
Quote by GodofCheesecake
Excessive punctuation!!!!!!!!! YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Quote by dhutton
+infinity

I have infinity.
Quote by metharian
yea its way too much for my little stick lol
it just takes practice
my tapping sounded like crap for a long time till i finally got the finger rhythm down and it smoothed out pretty quick and started to sound good
Warning: The above post may contain lethal levels of radiation, sharp objects and sexiness.
Proceed with extreme caution!
a nicer guitar will make it easier to tap, but if you don't have proper technique you won't be able to tap on any guitar. slow it right down and try it, i mean really painfully slowly.

are you on an electric or acoustic? what type of tapping are you trying, single finger or two handed tapping?
The only 6 words that can make you a better guitarist:

Learn theory
Practice better
Practice more
Quote by sw1ss023
Also, i like to use my pick to tap.

Wow, that's pretty sick!

Another thing to keep in mind:
If you want to mute the strings better, tap the highest note with your index finger while holding the neck (near the fret you're tapping) with your pinky and thumb. This might help you nail down the accuracy aspect of the technique.