I'm redoing a SX Tele that I got a while back and I'm needed pickups to order. First I had a set of Duncans picked out but then I stumbled across GFS pickups. I was wondering how good they are, tones they can handle and opinions on what I should get.

http://store.guitarfetish.com/lilpuxlnewfi.html (Modern Lead)
http://store.guitarfetish.com/lilpuxlnepif.html (Modern Vintage)

These are the two I'm looking at. There is a Modern Lead set but I don't want the Lead in the neck so I'm buying them separately. I play Metal and Rock but I love good cleans.

Are pickups hard to install? I want to do split coils (Or whatever it is where you have a push pull pot to go from single to humbucker) and I have no soldering experience.
Quote by Fat Lard
Why would you spend tens of thousands of dollars to learn about a language you already speak? It was over before it even started dude

Quote by captainsnazz
brot pls
I was just curious because I heard good things about GFS and it would save me about 100$.
Quote by Fat Lard
Why would you spend tens of thousands of dollars to learn about a language you already speak? It was over before it even started dude

Quote by captainsnazz
brot pls
I'm thinking that the extra hundred bucks will show in the tone. I'll keep GFS in mind for other projects, maybe my fretless bass I'm doing.
Quote by Fat Lard

Quote by captainsnazz
brot pls
Quote by BladeSlinger
I'm thinking that the extra hundred bucks will show in the tone. I'll keep GFS in mind for other projects, maybe my fretless bass I'm doing.

Between Duncans and GFS there will definitely be an improvement with the Duncans but honestly i wouldn't throw expensive pickups like SDs in a cheap guitar like an SX
Quote by Pac_man0123
Between Duncans and GFS there will definitely be an improvement with the Duncans but honestly i wouldn't throw expensive pickups like SDs in a cheap guitar like an SX

+1