Hey,

I'm a guitarist who plays punk (Not greenday, blink 182 punk. Original punk). But all i seem to do is little riffs and use power chords. While im not to keen on metal, my friend told me that playing metal will increase my speed. With increasing my speed, i want to increase my playing ability (ie. get better). My lack of speed and not knowing were to start is what has me 'stuck' in my creation of my own songs.

So i have 2 things to ask:

1). Know any techniques and any metal songs that can help me increase my speed? (I know it takes time and i dont expect it to come to me in weeks)

2). What helps you to come up with riffs and songs when you play?

BTW, I've been playing guitar for 11 months
what speed do you want to increase? since you were talking about riffs, I'll assume you are talking about your picking hand. if you want to increase that, then try to play riffs that are usually played with downpicking. "Master of Puppets" is a great song for that, if you can play that downpicked, you'll be a step farther.
Quote by jokersdemise
1). Know any techniques and any metal songs that can help me increase my speed? (I know it takes time and i dont expect it to come to me in weeks)

Technical Difficulties - Racer X
Constant Motion - Dream Theater
Wolf - Iced Earth

All pretty useful songs that will help you with your speed and technique. You will prbably have to start slow and work with a metronome to build up your speed. Don't expect to get them right off.

2). What helps you to come up with riffs and songs when you play?

They just come to me, really. I usually sit down once in a while and jam while listening to random songs, or alone. I usually find something good and work with it from there.

It was the only task I would undertake...

I P R O G
...to reap the harvest that was mine

- [ P R O G - H E A D ? ] -
Last edited by MetalGS3SE at Jul 16, 2009,