Newbie here. I'm gonna tell a little story..I'd appreciate it if there are any comments/pointers.

Last week was my 21st birthday. Some family members were asking what I wanted as my gift (no, I'm not that into drinking ), but I just didn't have anything in mind.

Until..a thought came across my mind. I could just start playing the guitar. Some people you might laugh, but I played Guitar Hero 3 which exposed me to lots of classic rock songs. What a major upgrade from the junk you hear on pop radio nowadays. Early this month I bought GH Metallica and it was just awesome..feeling like you can play along the great songs. I figured playing the real guitar would be even cooler..

So then I went to a Guitar Center...long story short, I went home with a Squier Strat Pack. I didn't know UG at the time, so I took the salesperson's words.

Now this was all spontaneous.. the time passed from the thought of buying to the ACTUAL buying itself was about 3 hours.

The next night..I unwrapped my guitar then tuned it with the electric auto-tuner that came with the package. Then it came my first obstacle: I snapped my D string while tuning it . Had a good chuckle, then went back to the GC the next day to get the string replaced.

Once I got home I tuned the strings carefully, and managed to get it done. Felt somewhat proud myself. Oh and I also bought Hal Leonard's Guitar Methods book, which I thought was too much theory compared to the Keith Wyatt Fender DVD excerpt.

So here I am..practicing chords for the past 3-4 days, starting with Wyatt's tip on learning E5, D5, A5 power chords. I thought I got it done until the time came for Major Chords. Need to make my fretting real precise (haven't had any experience with musical instruments before). Also got a little confused on the various ways of fretting the A chord (3 fingers, 2 fingers, 1 finger?). Another thing is the annoying buzzing sound with the "deeper" chords, e.g. E5 that isn't there when I picked the individual strings.