Hi guys,

I'm new to the forums. It seems like there's some very knowledgable people on here, so thought I'd ask a question that I need help with.

I have played for several years and am at a fairly decent standard. Recently, I've dedicded to upgrade my kit. I'm looking to get my first decent amp to replace the small practice amp I've been using so far. My budget is around £600 ($1000). I've checked out a lot of forums and websites, and been to try out a few amps in stores. I think it comes down to these choices of new amps:

Line 6 Spider Valve 212 (£600)
Marshall DSL401 Combo (£600)
Bugera 333XL-212 120W Combo (or the Bugera 333XL-212 120W, not sure of the difference) (£500)

or I can get second hand one of these (although they are both a little bit over budget but I would pay the extra if it's worth it):

Marshall TSL60 + 1960A Cab
Peavey 6505 + Cab

My main problem is that I am not experienced enough to really tell the difference between a lot of these amps. They all sound great, but that's because I am used to using much cheaper equipment. Is it worth paying the extra and getting the TSL60 or Peavey over the other choices? or are they overkill? Really, all I want is a good quality, versatile amp that will be great for practice and small gigs.

Does anyone have any advice? There are various other threads on choosing amps, but none compare all of the choices that I have above. I have an ESP LTD V401 and a tele copy, and play a lot of metal and hard rock, although I also play a wide range of things.

Thanks
Last edited by Rhetoricus at Jul 17, 2009,
i would get an amp head and cab if you possibly could instead of a combo... i mean come on, lol :P

also, i've heard that the 6505 isn't that great for clean tones, but slays for metal.

people generally complain a lot about the bugera, and I just generally don't like line 6.