I have a question for all you intermediate to advanced players:

I'm a relatively beginner guitarist, and decided to study music theory inside out before diving into actually learning single songs. I still practice scales and stuff everyday, but all of my studying, for the most part, has been learning all the theory I can.

My question is; how important of a role, if any, did knowing theory play into your progression of learning guitar?
well as for progression and what songs that I can play right this second, none, it didnt matter at all. The music theory that I know now just lets me write my own stuff, it didnt realy help me in my playing
Yeah, I understand how it does zero for technique. I guess I was moreso wondering if it were more common for beginners to learn theory inside/out, or just jump into learning songs.

I feel like I would rather know the fret board inside out, before just memerizing songs
Quote by Rellique
I have a question for all you intermediate to advanced players:

I'm a relatively beginner guitarist, and decided to study music theory inside out before diving into actually learning single songs. I still practice scales and stuff everyday, but all of my studying, for the most part, has been learning all the theory I can.

My question is; how important of a role, if any, did knowing theory play into your progression of learning guitar?

Learn theory as you progress. If you're still keen on learning theory more than songs, then study more theory than songs. If you're not keeping it fun (I don't know if you are or not) then you won't enjoy learning theory or anything. So instead, find something you're learning in theory, and learn how to apply it.

Like... If you're learning how to build chords, inversions, alternate chords, find a relatively easy song that uses just chords, and find new ways to play it but with different chord voicings.

You could also learn how to write a song in every key to apply the theory.