Hey guys, I'm new to the forum...well, I'm new to guitars too. Got mine today, it's just a basic black and white Stratocaster. I'm a noob when it comes to the technical stuff but I think I got most of it down now...one thing I do need help with however is tuning.

I know how to tune it....but I dont know what to tune it to. I've checked out various tutorials and videos but it doesn't make sense to me when they refer to all the names for the strings and so on. What's the easiest way to tune it? I mean, I have a pitch pipe but it seems complicated.

Can anyone help me out here?
I would start by using an electronic tuner. A pitch pipe produces the note of a certain string when you hit it, so you need to match the notes by ear if you do it this way...difficult if your new to music
GENERATION 10: The first time you see this, copy it into your sig on any forum and add 1 to the generation. Social experiment.
Quote by jackdaniels92
Hey guys, I'm new to the forum...well, I'm new to guitars too. Got mine today, it's just a basic black and white Stratocaster. I'm a noob when it comes to the technical stuff but I think I got most of it down now...one thing I do need help with however is tuning.

I know how to tune it....but I dont know what to tune it to. I've checked out various tutorials and videos but it doesn't make sense to me when they refer to all the names for the strings and so on. What's the easiest way to tune it? I mean, I have a pitch pipe but it seems complicated.

Can anyone help me out here?

1. Put pipe in mouth
2. Blow
3. Match strings to the correct pitch
4. ???
5. Profit!
Quote by Fat Lard
Why would you spend tens of thousands of dollars to learn about a language you already speak? It was over before it even started dude

Quote by captainsnazz
brot pls