Forgive me if i put this in the wrong forum but i want to know if theres any other bassists amongst us who have done what i want to do So I've been playing bass for roughy 4 years or so. I recently went to the music store to get some strings and while i was there i saw some banjos and just thought it would be amusing to pick up a 2nd stringed instrument and i am really thinking about buying one. Plus lately I've been listening to a lot of bluegrass and i really enjoy it. So does anybody happen to know if banjo is easy to pick up on from a bass? or would another instrument be better suited? (preferably a folk instrument) I dont know a whole lot about chords, just a little bit, but i do know stuff about intervals and other music theory. So does anybody have advice about banjo in general such as technique differences compared to bass?

thanks
Member #8 of the Trumpet Players' Alliance, PM E V H 5150 to join.

Quote by GuitarHero0715
The most ****ed up thing a woman can to do a man is give your d!ck an indian burn, or bite it off.

Only bassist of the Bass Militia PM Nutter_101 to join
I used to own one, for a couple of years, I just sold it a couple of months ago (out of necessity not loss of interest). It's a very good instrument to learn, especially for the right hand techniques you can take from it. I started out learning some Sufjan Stevens stuff, I'd say start somewhere like that, it's simple stuff that will get your feet wet.
"It often happens that I wake up at night and begin to think about a serious problem and decide I must tell the pope about it. Then I wake up completely and remember that I am the pope."

---Pope John XXIII
not much for banjos. the technique is a bit different. mainly for the picking. the purpose is different.

if you get a plug in one it sounds awesome with heavy distortion.
Quote by FatalGear41
I wouldn't call what we have here on the Bass Forum a mentality. It's more like the sharing part of an AA meeting.

Quote by Jason Jillard