Well, I'm a lefty guitarist and have been playing for about 5 years ish and I think i'm pretty good, play in bands and I've got quite a rounded technique, especially my chord work and also just general noodling.

One thing that bugs me is that, being a lefty, there is a small choice of guitars out there, admittedly there are some, but the range just doesn't compare to the options righty's have. See where I'm going with this? Basically my aim over these long summer holidays of mine is to learn and get good at playing right handed.

My dad and brother play right handed so I have both an acoustic and electric guitar to practice on and also I already know all the notes and scales, chords etc from playing lefty so I don't need to learn that either. I've been playing a little today and I haven't found it all that bad, its just familiarising myself with fretting and alternate picking etc.

So what do you guys think? Am I insane? Or is it a good idea? Any input will be greatly appreciated and taken on board, unless it is doucheish.

Cheers!
It's a lot of work just to get a better instrument. I'm left handed myself and I think there are enough options for left handed players to cover most needs. Most guitar companies will create a left handed version of a model on request - admittedly at a higher price though. Plus left handed players look cooler onstage mirroring the right handed players!

...oh, and it goes against everything in your sig'.
Quote by whitemanwalking
It's a lot of work just to get a better instrument. I'm left handed myself and I think there are enough options for left handed players to cover most needs. Most guitar companies will create a left handed version of a model on request - admittedly at a higher price though. Plus left handed players look cooler onstage mirroring the right handed players!

...oh, and it goes against everything in your sig'.