hey mates i started playing shred and hope one day i could play like john 5.i been playing this lick (riff, called what you want) from michael angleo

||-----------------------------------|
||------------------------------------|
||--------------11-12-11--------------|
||---11-12-14------------14-12------| 3x

||----------------------------------------------------------------------|
||-----------------------------------------------------------------------|
||----------------11-12-14-12-11------12-11-----------11-------------|
||----11-12-14----------------------14---------14-12--------14-12-------| 4. time
||----------------------------------------------------------------------------|
||----------------------------------------------------------------------|

i played alternative picking..started at 80bmp now got it up to 115bpm in like 10days...and i just discovered economy picking..oh ****..should i start now again at 80bpm and do it with economy?or just leave it that way..i got used to the tempo of my metronome..but now for like some days i am stuck at 115bpm..even 120 is a pain in the ass..so should i go slower and do it alternative (or economy? and when how should i pick it) most of all i am motivated..so i wanted to know is this normal to get stuck so quick..?

help me please. cheers
Last edited by hitl at Jul 18, 2009,
Yes, it is normal to get stuck so quick. Slow down, and try again. Stay relaxed, with small movements from the wrist for your picking. As for your fretting hand, take a look at some of Freepower's videos on youtube.
Quote by Nilpferdkoenig
To be able to play like John 5, you should expect to be dedicating many hours for many years.

This, and also I wouldnt recommend starting with MAB licks. I tried using those licks from the Speed Kills 2 DVD. I would suggest something more simpler from youtube. Start with one string string exercises up/down the neck, then two, then three, ect.
I don't believe in signatures. Ah, sh...