I have come here in search of recommendations for a new interface.

I'm using an Alesis Multimix 8 USB at the moment and I am not pleased with the sounds I am getting. It's clean sounds for guitars and bass are fine, but when I turn on the gain, I don't get that great of a sound, and the drums don't sound as good as I would like. I am a drummer turned guitar player turned bassist, so I will be recording drums a lot, so a 1 plug deal won't cut it.

I don't care if it's firewire or USB, a rack mount would be fine, i don't care about built in effects, EQ, as long as I can get a good sound out of it, I'm happy. My budget is around $400 or less.

I have some nice mics, so it's not a mic problem.
I use to own the Alesis Multimix 16 USB and I remember the quality being less the great, So I understand where you are coming from. I upgraded, got rid of the physical mixer and now I use a Presonus FireStudio and Logic Pro. Much Better Sound Quality and Overall I'm Very Pleased with my Results.

I'd recommend getting any PreSonus Interface, I bought mine for around $400 it got 8 XLR ins and Various Outs on the back of the unit (Can't remember them all at the moment) But Overall a great unit.

So Try Anything By PreSonus, Depending on the number of inputs you need the Model you'll want will differ

But Check out www.presonus.com

Good Luck.
maybe try the line 6 pod ux1 or something? they seem pretty good, im ordering mine sometime this month so i dunno how good they really are yet.
Quote by Diet_coke_head
Hey! Now you can molest you're grandma and she won't remember! Score!!!

Gear:
Fender Aerodyne Jazz Bass
Fender V Jazz
Ashdown MAG 410
EH Bass Big MUff
MXR Bass Octave Deluxe
Digitech Synth Wah
I've looked at a few PreSonus but the ones I would buy are all over $500, so maybe not. And no to the Line 6, I don't trust line 6 with my recordings :P

Thanks so far though, anyone else?