Page 1 of 3
When are you counted as a 'musician" and not "someone who plays guitar". I would think I am a musician, as to I know about chords, and scales and modes, and harmony and how to put all that into a song smoothly. But at waht point is it that you are a musician??
There's a difference between being able to make music and being able to play notes on a guitar, and that's what makes one a musician. If you can feel the music you're making then you're a musician.
Quote by pwrmax
There's a difference between being able to make music and being able to play notes on a guitar, and that's what makes one a musician. If you can feel the music you're making then you're a musician.
Yes.

To play guitar is to use your fingers to make notes and chords come out of a guitar.
To create music is to use notes and scales, chords and chord progressions, melody and harmony, consonance and dissonance, dynamics (loud and soft), rhythm, creativity, novelty, and enough knowledge of these things to allow one to not be confined by the boundaries of these things to express what can't be expressed any other way and create something that has never been created before..
Only play what you hear. If you don’t hear anything, don’t play anything.
-Chick Corea
Quote by food1010
Yes.

To play guitar is to use your fingers to make notes and chords come out of a guitar.
To create music is to use notes and scales, chords and chord progressions, melody and harmony, consonance and dissonance, dynamics (loud and soft), rhythm, creativity, novelty, and enough knowledge of these things to allow one to not be confined by the boundaries of these things to express what can't be expressed any other way and create something that has never been created before..

So, someone in a cover band isn't a musician? A concert flautist who doesn't compose himself isn't a musician?

I'll save everyone the trouble of of fabricating personal definitions for a word that was defined centuries ago...

Main Entry: mu·si·cian