Hi guys, ive been playing guitar for many years but recently joined a band. I play a PRS hooked up to a Marshall MG100HDFX; i was looking to get a noise gate/surpressor as when I turn the gain up high (say past 3 oclock)there seems to be a fair deal of feedback. Anyways after reasearching for a bit I seeme to have narrowed it to 2 contenders, the Boss NS2 and the MXR M-135. I am after a pedal that will help to supress the feedback from the amp rather than noise from pedals (as i dont use a distortion pedal). Any ideas? suggestions? advice? thanks!!
my first suggestion is get a different amp...seriously, that poor poor PRS.

as far as noise gates go, if u watch videos of the boss vs the isp decimator, the boss is a tone sucker, and the mxr isnt much better. go for the isp.
Mesa F-30 - 1x12 V30
PRS SE Custom 24 (GFS Crunchy PATs)
PRS SE Singlecut (Evo/Air Norton)
1989 Starforce (GFS PowerRails)
Morley Tremonti Power Wah, TS7 (808-Mod), Pitchblack, Boss DD-3, DE FnC
Thanks for that, believe me id love another amp but cant afford it at the moment :-(
is the decimator actually better than the mxr as i have heard mixed reviews about it.
youtube is ur friend lol. check out reviews or VS videos of pedals. from my opinion of what i heard, the isp sucks up less tone than the boss, and the mxr is decent, but still not there. the isp is kinda pricey though.
Mesa F-30 - 1x12 V30
PRS SE Custom 24 (GFS Crunchy PATs)
PRS SE Singlecut (Evo/Air Norton)
1989 Starforce (GFS PowerRails)
Morley Tremonti Power Wah, TS7 (808-Mod), Pitchblack, Boss DD-3, DE FnC
ISP is the way to go. I love the way the decimator really helps quiet your rig down. Depending on the settings, you can use to help control feedback.
R.I.P. Randy Rhoads