basically ive been learning slap bass for a while and i have the technique but when i plug in i cant quite get that tone

help please?
what kind of bass do you have? and what amp?

i've been playing bass for maybe 6 months now and i'd like to know the same thing. i'm gonna hang out here for a little while.
"... and on either side of the river was the tree of life, with its twelve kinds of fruit, yielding its fruit each month. The leaves of this tree were for the healing of nations.
Please head to the Bass-forum and read the stickies there.
The very existence of flamethrowers proves that some time, somewhere, someone said to themselves, "You know, I want to set those people over there on fire, but I'm just not close enough to get the job done.

-George Carlin
SCOOP YO MIDS PUNK

a lot of slap players also use active pickups/preamps/witchcraft too
Get off this damn forum and play your damn guitar.
Quote by konfyouzd
what kind of bass do you have? and what amp?

i've been playing bass for maybe 6 months now and i'd like to know the same thing. i'm gonna hang out here for a little while.

i got a squire P-bass and an Ashdown Electric Blue 180
gear:
Squire P-Bass
Ashdown Electric Blue 180
Ibanez ARC 100
Line 6 Spider III
Quote by stevo_epi_SG_wo
SCOOP YO MIDS PUNK

ahh... scooped mids... we meet again...
"... and on either side of the river was the tree of life, with its twelve kinds of fruit, yielding its fruit each month. The leaves of this tree were for the healing of nations.
Quote by stevo_epi_SG_wo
SCOOP YO MIDS PUNK

scoop? are you sure:|
that punchy slapping sound sounds very mid heavy to me
i'd say bass 4-6 mid 7 and treble 6 scooping mids just means it sounds compressed and doesnt cut through( i know compressed isnt the correct word but think of it literally)
Quote by superfish1232
scoop? are you sure:|
that punchy slapping sound sounds very mid heavy to me