So I started out on a cheap Ibanez starter pack acoustic and I never upgraded. I've been playing for 5 years but I stopped playing my acoustic guitar once I started getting some good electrics. I want to get back into it. I want something good. I pretty much don't know anything about the construction or tonal properties of acoustics. I'm looking into acoustic electrics because I can just plug it in if I gig with it and then I'm not restricted to standing in front of a mic. Are there any negatives with that? I'm also thinking about getting a 12-string because I like their sound. What are the differences and potential problems with 12-strings beside the 6 extra strings. And can I remove those extra strings if I only want 6-strings (or any other strange number like 10) at a particular moment in my life without any problems? I also find that I prefer the craftsmanship of Japanese guitars when it comes to electrics. Are Japanese acoustics as good as Japanese Electrics? And is that Takamine even made in Japan? Is Takamine a good company and is that particular model good? And last question, are locking tuners also good for acoustics? I love them for my electrics.

http://www.takamine.com/?fa=detail&mid=134&sid=66

I'm very open to different options. Around $1200 is my budget though.
the problems with getting a 12 string are that they're much harder to fingerpick, and harder to play leads with using a pick but mostly not all songs sound good with a 12 string. if you remove those 6 strings, your guitar will be difficult to play as there's a lot more space between the strings.