Hello I'm Rancid Ivy and I'm fairly new here, and this is my first thread so if it breaks any rules, please warn me

Okay so I've been playing power chords for about 8 months now (I can play a lot of songs with them (Pretty Fly for a white guy, almost all Nirvana and Green Day (Dookie Era), and various others)

When I look at covers on yoitube, everyone keeps their middle finger (the one they don't use) kinds "curled down" or something. but when I play, my middle finger is still straight and it kinds follows my 3rd and 4th fingers (without touching other strings because I know I play them correctly). My question: Does it matter if my middle finger stays straight or should I learn to kind of curl it down (search "powerchord" on google if you don't know what I mean)

Thanks!
"You have brains in your head,
You have feet in your shoes,
You can steer yourself,
any direction you choose,
You're on your own,
And you know what you know,
And YOU are the one who'll decide where to go."

- Dr. Seuss
You're good with whatever feels most comfortable!
Quote by rebelmidget
I do believe you just used Blink 182 and hard rock in the same sentence. It would seem you're rather confused.
I have a quote in my signature! And it makes fun of blink-182! I'm cool now!

[Obligatory link to my band's MySpace]
Do you mean you're perpetually flipping people the bird while you play?
breaking hearts
&
breaking guitars
it shouldn't matter really where your "free finger" is when playing just powerchords. if you are playing full chords though then you'll obviously need to have it on/ready to go on the fret board (e.g. f#major) You should probably try playing some full barre chords if you've been playing for 8 months. They'll be difficult at first as they require a fair bit of finger strength but they open up a huge range of musical possibilities
The only 6 words that can make you a better guitarist:

Learn theory
Practice better
Practice more