Hello everyone. Now I've been playing my squier strat for a few years now, and I honestly think I'm ready for a change. Not that it's a bad guitar, but my input/output is shot, half the frets are coming loose, the toggle switch is beyond noisy, and the white finish has been stained a disgusting yellow. I'll be going into high school this year, and will want something to adapt to just about any kind of music, from jazz to maybe metal.
My highest price right now is about 300 dollars, but given a little more time, I could get close to 500. So with that sort of range in mind, and (as much as I despise them), a local guitar center close by, what guitar should I be looking into? And even more general, what's going to be a reliable brand that I can stick to? Thanks in advance, and ya'll have a great day.
I would say if you get a guitar and put a Bareknuckle Nailbomb in the bridge you can play jazz to metal and everything in between. Assuming its atleast a mid range guitar. What kinda body shapes do you like?
Better, Faster, Stronger

Kansas City Chiefs

Kansas State Wildcats
Quote by airbrendie
Hey guys in the last 3 weeks I ****ed all the girls in this picture, what do you think?

body shape doesnt really matter, though assuming that I play sitting and standing, anything too BC Rich probably wouldnt be the way to go. And can anyone recommend the Ibanez RG350DX ? Otherwise, the before mentioned guitar above seems just as good.
Quote by Colgate Total
Mid end Ibanez would be great. The RG321 (?) comes to mind.

Nah, i'd go for the RG2EX1... or the like.
I had gotten my Squier used, and it wasnt very good. The action was there, the versatility was decent enough, but the quality made me frustrated. And thanks to all that have posted. I will probably look into a cheap stratocaster or a good RG model.
Quote by rockneweengland
It seems like Ibanez has a ton of these RG's in my range. Are there any I should avoid?