I've been playing guitar solidly for around three years now (with a teacher), and although I have come a long way from not being able to hit a power chord, I still suck hard.

Tonight I was going to record something for the "need halp - technique analysis" thread. I think it's my practice routine that needs changing. Really all I've been doing is working through songs that my guitar teacher sets me, and lately I've been doing the spider exercise (which I think has had positive effect). Tonight I've really been scrutinising my playing, and I've been playing something easy and will suddenly **** something up which I find easy, but I think that's just how annoyed I am (and it's at a speed which is totally comfortable btw)

Anyway, I'm playing along and suddenly I have this epiphany. "I've been playing for three years and I still suck". BOOM! major leverage, I decide to get this **** handled, I hit up the UG forums for the first time in ages (will probably start contributing here again) and here I am now. I might even stop taking lessons with my current teacher once I get my own practice schedule down (as opposed to just running through the same **** time and time again).

I'm not looking for a magic-pill practice routine, I know that there will be things that I'll need to work on more than others, and that this routine won't auto-fix everything. But this is something I need to get handled, I picked up the guitar because I listened to Maiden's "Rock In Rio" (even though I don't really listen to much metal these days, the pretence still stands) and I wanted to be there, playing in a band, not in my room. Listening to that album was a landmark point in my life, like your first kiss, or your first day of school. Beautiful. Not that I don't enjoy playing in my room, but at the end of the day, bedroom noodling is a means to an end for me personally (I don't necessarily want a career out of it though)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QPkg86-MJHM - Spider Exercise