When it comes to amps I dont know much about them. I've been playing for about 3-4 years and I'm starting to tackle some Paul Gilbert stuff, and I think its time to upgrade my amp (I have a 15 watt Marshall practice amp). I've been doing a little research and the Carvin V3 looks like a good choice. I found a Carvin V3 3 Channel 50/100 watt Tube head. I dont know much about amps, but I'm assuming since its a head I'll have to be a cabinet along with it.

So I have a couple questions:

Can someone explain to me sort of the basics of amp heads and cabinets?

If I do end up buying this amp (its priced at $500), will any cabinet do or do I have to buy a Carvin cabinet?

Whats your personal thoughts or experiences (if you have any) about this amp?

Thanks for the help.
"Music is my religion." - Jimi Hendrix

Guitars:
Epiphone Les Paul Standard
ESP LTD Alexi-600
Ibanez RG3EXFM1

Other Gear:
Carvin V3 amp head
Marshall MG15DFX
Digitech RP250 pedal
500 bucks ... for a V3? *jaws drop*

I'd probably get it anyway, but since I can't try out any carvin amps here they're sorta like my (wet)dream amps, so I guess you'd better ignore my opinion

Also, if I remember correctly the V3 is what frank zappa used and what Steve Vai used before they made the legacy.
Quote by Demonikk
'Practice amp' = amp you practice with? In my case, Peavey 6505+ and 4x12
I don't do things small

Except children.
Last edited by Slicer666 at Jul 22, 2009,
Do not ever run a tube head without a speaker hooked up to it. Also, you'll need to make sure to match impedances (measured in ohms-thats the little Greek omega symbol) head to cabinet. Most cabs are 8 ohms, so just use the switch on the back of the head to set the head to 8 ohms. Also, the cabinet you buy I believe needs to have an equal or higher watt rating than the head. So, if you get a 2x12 cabinet, odds are you need to have the head set to 50 watts.