alright here is my situation: i have saved up 1800 dollars for guitars, i am a bassist that has decided to switch instruments, and before anyone comments on this, am 100 percent sure about this decision.

the dilemma: i cant decide whether or not to get one really nice guitar, or 2 decent ones...can i play everything from jazz to metal with one guitar without worries?

thanks in advance!
It depends on the kind of person you are, really.

I myself would prefer to have one ideal guitar, but most people I've met would rather have several to choose from.

While with your budget, you can afford some versatile and high quality guitars, it's difficult to find a guitar that sounds amazing in all situations. Many guitars are fairly good all round, but truly excel at more specific musical directions.

My advice:
Check out Vigier and PRS guitars, and the Ibanez S520, see if they suit you as all-rounders.

EDIT: actually, Vigier and PRS are probably out of your price range. I apologise for the error.
Last edited by sashki at Jul 22, 2009,
Hey!

The other guitarist in my band has an Ibanez S Prestige. We are still to find a genre that beast can't play...

With that said, I prefer to have multiple guitars for two reasons:

1) I can have different tunings in different guitars.

2) With multiple guitars I'm guaranteed to be playing every time. The moment I put my Jackson down, I look at my Ibanez and feel the urge to play it. Then, when I put the Ibanez down, I look into the Jackson and I feel I HAVE to play with that guitar, and so on... yes, I love them both =D
Guitars:
Jackson WRXT + EMG 81/85
Les Paul
Ibanez SZ320
Amps:
Peavey Valveking 112
Roland Cube 30X
Effects:
Dunlop Cry-baby
Danelectro Cool Cat Transparent Overdrive
Synthetizer:
Roland EXR-5