I'm no stranger to guitars. I've been playing for a few years now but most of my time has been spent playing solo, with a little 15 watt amp in my bedroom. It is only in recent months that my schedule opened up enough to give me enough free time to join a band. I've been playing with a group of really awesome dudes for a couple of months, after they responded to my "guitarist looking to join a band" ad on craigslist. We've been spending lots of time working on some covers and some original material, and our vocalist has some hookups that were able to get us a really sweet gig, opening for a band on August 7th.

This gig is not only the first live performance for my two-month-old band, but also my first one ever. All of us are in our early to mid 20's and come to the table with varying levels of experience. We are sounding pretty good to say we've only been playing together for such a short amount of time. My questions have to do with performing live, and tweaking everything to get the most of of our available resources.

At the moment, I have numerous very nice guitars at my disposal, but no performance-worthy amp. My pathetically tiny Fender Frontman 15w ain't gonna get the job done. One of the other band members has been letting me use his friend's amp at practices (a 100w 1x12 B52) but he told me that the friend is probably going to be taking it back soon. To that extent, I'm keeping an eye open for decent amps that might serve my needs. Unfortunately I'm moving into a new place soon and will need to spend a lot of money on that, so I don't have a whole ton of cash available to me at the moment. I would really love (love love love) to be able to buy this sweet halfstack but it's a bit more than I really feel comfortable spending at the moment. I'm probably going to end up with A combo amp such as this if I can find one at a decent price (the price on the page I linked to here is a bit steep as well and I think I can do better elsewhere.)