I have a MIM Standard HSS Strat. I've not considered anything particularly "wrong" with the sound I get from it, but recently there have been more and more times where it just doesn't sound "right". Just sort of sounds like more could be gotten from what I was playing. I don't know really how to describe these things, but the neck pickup sounds a bit muddy to me, and both the neck and middle are sort of flat and quiet.

I'm sorry if that description isn't very detailed, but I'd say that's about where my playing is. I'm not so new to playing that I don't hear the difference, but I'm not experienced enough yet to be able to explain what I'm noticing. Which brings me to my question.

It looks like when people upgrade they'll often sell their OEM stuff on Ebay. I was looking at some pickups off an American made Strat (someone was probably upgrading) and wondered if they'd be worth trying. I also see a lot of GFS pickups that seem very inexpensive, but don't know how they typically compare to my OEM Fender ones...

Is there much of a difference between the pickups on a MIM model versus and American made model? I'd like to think so, but I really don't know.

As for an amp I currently have a Line6 Spider III 15. I've been looking at the Line6 Spider III 75 as a potential upgrade instead of the pickups...

Thank you in advance for any input.
Richard

I tried setting my password to "penis". It said my password wasn't long enough.

PRSi:
*ME Quatro
*CE-22
*SE Soapbar II
H&K TubeMeister
TC Electronic Nova System

PBT Native
Last edited by richardlpalmer at Jul 28, 2009,
Quote by richardlpalmer
As for an amp I currently have a Line6 Spider III 15. I've been looking at the Line6 Spider III 75 as a potential upgrade
This is not an upgrade. It's just louder.
Meadows
Quote by Jackal58
I release my inner liberal every morning when I take a shit.
Quote by SK8RDUDE411
I wont be like those jerks who dedicate their beliefs to logic and reaosn.