I'm new to playing guitar (I don't own one yet), and I'm trying to decide on one to buy.

I really like the sound of Schecter guitars, and some of them are in my price range and still sound good (my price range is $250-$450), but I have one concern. I played a couple in a guitar store and compared them to some other guitars, and I'm not sure if I'd be able to play very well on the thicker neck. I'm a rather small person (only 5'6") so my hands aren't all that big.

What are some other guitars in my price range that have good crunchy distorted tones? I'm looking at playing things like Metallica and Avenged Sevenfold.
IBANEZ GOD DAMMIT!! get an ibanez RG, even the low end ones (like the RG350DX, same one i haveare bloody amazing!

and you wont fond a slimmer more comfortable neck anywhere!!
Mah gear :p

Guitars:
Ibanez RG350DX
BC rich NJ neck thru series warlock
customized epi les paul

Amps:
blackstar ht-5 combo
VOX VT-100

Pedals:
bad dog phaser

"Remember your a WOMBLE!!!"
Quote by Morrie2995
dude you just became my hero. Nice
Quote by sylphin

I hate when people say that. It's only comfortable to you, because it fits your hands well. I hate Ibanez necks, because it does not fit my hand well.

Anyways, Washburn's X series are pretty good against a Schecter.
it's all just coming back
it's all coming back

it's all coming back to me
Quote by Baby Joel
I hate when people say that. It's only comfortable to you, because it fits your hands well. I hate Ibanez necks, because it does not fit my hand well.

Anyways, Washburn's X series are pretty good against a Schecter.

+1 They feel too wide and are too flat for me however my Capa is absolute heaven for me.
Those caparisons look so damn nice

sylphin - The original wizard neck is slimmer than the wizard II.

TS - You really need to try an ibanez to see if it's for you. It's love/hate with the necks. For some it's uncomfortable and for others it's godly. We don't know whats comfortable for you, but you do.