I have understood that a pentatonic scale is something like this:

e|-0-2-3-5-7-8-10-12-|
B|-0-2-3-5-7-8-10-12-|
G|-0-2-4-5-7-9-10-12-|
D|-0-2-4-5-7-9-10-12-|
A|-0-2-4-5-7-9-10-12-|
E|-0-2-3-5-7-8-10-12-|

But I'm getting pretty confused after seeing such things as this:

So can someone please explain this last image to me. Although I know there are lots of lessons about scales (esp. pentatonic scales), these patterns don't help me much because I'm not sure if I really get what they mean.

I'm not a complete beginner by the way, I just don't know much about music theory. If anybody explained these patterns to me, it would probably be easier for me to learn some other scales than the pentatonic, which is starting to bore me...

Thanks,
ahsoo
» Ibanez SZ520 + JB/Jazz
» Rocktron Rampage
» Vox ToneLab SE
» Laney LC15
There's 5 different notes in a pentatonic scale (hence, penta-) and those 5 patterns are the same scale, starting from a different note. Much like modes in relation to the major (Ionian) scale.

Edit: What you put originally isn't the pentatonic, it's the minor scale.
Last edited by Silvertooth at Jul 24, 2009,
The pentatonic scale is made up of 5 notes. You can play the scale anywhere on the neck that you can find those notes.

If you were to get a picture of a fretboard and draw on it every occurance of every note in a pentatonic scale, it makes a pattern.

Break that pattern up into 2nps sections and you get your picture. The red dots are the minor pentatonic root notes.

They don't put fret numbers on the pics because where you play it will vary depending on what key your in - what your root note is.

If you want to understand scales, start with the major scale. Its the simplest, and you can derive pretty much all your other scales from it. For example the major pentatonic is just the major scale with 2 notes omitted. Check out the music theory FAQ sticky
these patterns are penetonics