I started playing guitar last year.. i've become very good in only 1 year and 5 months. I can do sweep picking, alternate, economy and a lot of stuff.

I play metalcore (not gay metalcore like a7x) and instrumental.

I was wondering how to start "changing" my phrasing to finally create solos like Steve Vai, Between The Buried And Me, Jason Becker (altitudes mainly <3)

Is there any good instructional video/DVD on it? Please name it.. Melodic Control didn't work for me.. I found it boring and useless..

I KNOW changing my style of phrasing is extremely hard and a video won't help much but it will help a little

EDIT: the videos i've found are more blues/rock oriented, and I play metal/metalcore/technical metalcore.. and in the blues DVDs i don't see any sweep picking and stuff.
Last edited by IHeartMyCrybaby at Jul 24, 2009,
i think that the best way to change your phrasing and style of play would be to play songs by steve vai, btbam, and jason becker. That way you know what riffs they use and you can play things that are similiar.

but, a good video to look at would be marty friedman's melodic control. it has some pretty cool stuff about phrasing.