Hey guys I been playing guitar for about a year i am a beginner i know many shapes and scales a few chords lots of riffs and licks but i have no theory just basic blues and pentatonic.

I can solo half decent but what i am getting at is theory.

Where can i learn the systems of which scales go with which chords and what chords you can make progressions with and what scales can mix over them.Basically i have not theory of how to improvise and what can be player over what is there a system or book that explains this for beginners. I know the basic's like for example if i strum a A chord and play pentatonic licks in A minor it will work together and sound fine all though simple.

How can i learn to play a chord progression and solo over the whole thing and learn theory of how it all works and which arpeggios sound good with each chord. I can solo and play fine but i want to learn what chords and notes to play in the back ground so i can learn to make songs. I have no problem learning the scales but my problem is learning which arpeggios work over certain scales and certain chords.

Basically if i wanted to play in A minor i would like to know more than one chord progression, arpeggio & scales/patters that work over a minor or no doubt it would sound boring and get old fast. How can i learn this theory I would like to achieve knowledge of each key and what can be played in each one and how to improvise them.

Is there like sheet music for example is there any sites or tabs that have examples.
Last edited by Kiggz at Jul 25, 2009,
Maybe you should write to Eric Clapton or Neil Young and ask them, I'll bet that many of those on here who've studied theory know more than these guys.
G&L L2500
Squier Affinity Jazz Bass 5
Ashdown RPM pre-amp
Ashdown Little Giant 1000
300 watt 15" powered cab
450 watt 15" powered sub bass cab
2x10 + horn
1x15x10 + horn
Start with "the Crusades" article.

It's a great beginner theory article, and it is located on UG.