So I've been wearing these daily contact lenses for a few months, and I've been told not to sleep in them or wear them for more than 14 hours a day. That's fine, I can normally remember to take them out quite well.

Anyway here's the question: usually when I got out drinking or to a party I don't wear them in case I forget to take them out. I can see well enough to get by without them, I don't bump into things or anything like that. But after I get a bit drunk my vision deteriorates more and I find it quite annoying.

So what happens if I DO sleep in them? I've heard it can damage your eyes, but is that due to the sleeping, or just the length of time they've been in? If I were to put a fresh pair in before I leave tonight, sleep in them and take them out when I get home tomorrow then that would still be less than 14 hours... Is that fine?

Glasses aren't an option because I've lost them.

TL;DR: Will bad things happen if I sleep in daily disposable lenses after getting drunk?

Cheers Pit.
Ask your optician.

Or just take them out after drinking. If you can find your way home, you can stab blindly into your eyes to take out two thin sheets of plastic.
Well I wear monthlys and I fell asleep in them when I went camping. I didn't damage my eyes or anything but they went really red and sore so I would recommend trying not to sleep in them. And I was only asleep a few hours so maybe I wasn't asleep long enough to damage my eyes.

EDIT: So really I don't know but try not to sleep in them just in case.
Last edited by guitar12 at Jul 25, 2009,
i slept with my soft lenses once and when i woke up they were all dry which whas quite painfull.
Playing since december 2004
Quote by BloodMoon666

*sports commentator voice*
And this thread is over!

Wonderful match by TS but in the end simply overwhelmed by the pure skill and simplicity of unfluffed. A true professional in action.